Homemade Pouches.

If you have a toddler, then you are wellllllll aware of the fact that you can’t go anywhere without snacks! Or is that just us? Lilly seems to be her hungriest when we are out! Of course. For a while one of our go-to-snacks was fruit and vegetable pouches! We love them because they are small and easy for Lilly to feed herself while sitting in a shopping cart. Most of the time she would finish a pouch in 5 minutes. But there are times when she would start to play with them and realize that she could spray them. Everywhere. Which means, NO MORE POUCH! Or she would become un-interested and need a new snack (pretzels, granola bar, fruit, or teddy grahams). So we would save what was left of the pouch and sadly it would often go unfinished and wasted… Because they would get left in the diaper bag, or left too long in the fridge, or whatever!

So I was tired of wasting money and decided to start making my own! I had bought reusable pouches at walmart a few months back, but a few of them were missing/destroyed. I returned them and didn’t end up buying anymore right away. When shopping with a baby you don’t always have time to examine your products before buying them… .

About a week ago I bought this brand  of reusable pouches and am loving them so far! I got mine at BuyBuy Baby in a pack of 20 for for $8! Not bad at all. And I used my 20% off coupon! So I will share my first recipe-ish that I used for them! I am happy to say that they were a success, yay!

Here are the ingredients that I used:

  • two slices of watermelon
  • a handful of grapes
  • 1 Cup of Applesauce
  • 1 Cup of breastmilk

IMG_9870

I cut up the watermelon and grapes and then added the liquids on top!

IMG_9874

Used my handy dandy magic bullet to blind everything!

IMG_9875

And the mixture was a little runny. Which would be fine if I was just making a smoothie for her to drink. But because I was wanting it to be thicker in the pouch so that she could hold it and feed it to herself (toddler + free flowing liquid= TROUBLE!) I added about 1/4-1/2 Cup of rice cereal that we had lying around. This is the brand that I used!

IMG_9877

Once it became the consistency that I was aiming for, I poured it into these little pouches!

IMG_9876

Screwed on the caps, and there you go!

IMG_9879

I also bought these to attach to the tops when she has them! I am very pleased with how quick and easy these were to make! I can’t wait to make more and try new recipes. A typical pouch is about $1.30-$1.80, if you buy the organic brand. I made these four pouches with all organic ingredients for about $0.65! Making them around $0.17 each. Knowing how cheap they are to make and how much money I can be saving, I better not (unless I am desperate… we can’t all always leave completely prepared for every outing!) buy them again!

Also, because all my pumped milk is already frozen, then for the future I will probably make smaller batches because the milk needs to be used within 24 hours once it has been defrosted. And four pouches is a lot for one day! Ha.

Here is my real life toddler, actually eating the pouches!

IMG_9990

IMG_9986

IMG_9979

IMG_9996

Lilly will eat about 1/2 or so for breakfast (with some granola chunks or dry cereal) and then I will give her the rest of it with her lunch!

Hope you enjoy! Anyone else make their own pouches? What are your favorite recipes? Share them with me!

Until next time,
Tiffany
xoxo

Leave a Reply

