DIY Deodorant

Happy Friday!

So here is the deal, I am always looking for ways to make my home and the products we use as chemical free and as natural as possible. Especially with a very active 8 month old who is getting into everything, on top of everything, and eating everything. Although this weeks post/project doesn’t really apply to her. But a week and a half ago I decided to make my own deodorant!

IMG_2370

And I am going to be totally real with you all for a minute, I rarely wear deodorant! I know, I’m disgusting. But I’m a stay at home mom and it’s been winter and I don’t really sweat all that much unless I am working out. So over time it’s become less routine for me to put it on in the morning when I am just going to be home all day. I decided to make my own a few weeks back when I was about to go for a run and just grabbed the nearest deodorant, probably my husbands because I’m not even sure where mine is anymore. Anyways, my skin started burning immediately after putting it on but I just assumed mens deoderant is stronger? I don’t know. I just went with it and went out for my run. The entire three miles my underarms were on FIRE. As soon as I got home I went straight for the shower to wash it off, and then to throw it away! I wasn’t sure if it was a reaction to that specific deodorant or if my body just wasn’t use to having such harsh chemicals applied to it.

So I decided to make my own and I have been using it for 10 days now and I am so in love! I tried my hardest to apply it everyday these past 10 days so that I could give an accurate review. Even with my best efforts, I may have missed a day or two, but no complaints about missing any days. I have also ran everyday these past 10 days and it has worked wonders. I was afraid that with the weather being warmer (aka- sweating more!) and running quite a few miles then there would be some stink, but none at all! My underarms smell nice, they haven’t burned or had any weird reactions, and I feel better being able to pronounce all the ingredients that I am applying directly to my skin. So I am going to pass along this recipe in hopes that it is helpful to someone else!

IMG_2363

DIY Deodorant Recipe

  • 1/2-3/4 Cup of Coconut Oil
  • 1/4 Cup of Baking Soda
  • 1/4 Cup of Cornstarch
  • 1 tsp Essential oil
    • I used:
      • 15 drops Young Living Lavender
      • 15 drops Young Living Melaleuca Alternifolia (tea tree)

I hope you enjoy and this recipe works for you! Comment anything you would change or your own favorite recipe that you already use!

Until next time,

Tiffany
xoxo

Leave a Reply

